top of page

Winning with Google Forms

Because I didn’t get into education because I love grading multiple choice quizzes and transcribing them into a gradebook. I got into education for the right reasons - June, July, and August.

My desire to crush at my job often directly interferes with my desire to live a fulfilling life. In my experience, these two truths are always conflicting in my life. The problem is that no one has been able to add more time to the day, not even Dr. Emmett Brown.

 

.In the name of working smarter, not harder. Here are some useful add-ons to take some of the sting out of the mundane tasks that overtake the teacher workday and prevent them from fully engaging with the most transformative aspects of education: interacting with their students.

Form Notifications - Don't navigate back to your google form to check for new submissions. Get notified automatically at the frequency that fits your needs.

Autocrat - Automate the creation and sharing of personalized documents.

Save As Doc - Convert the data from a Google Form (in a Google Sheets spreadsheet) into a Google Document for improved legibility of lengthy cell text entries.

 

Google Forms has some really powerful functionality. So let's harness the power of Google Forms to make the mundane tasks of education more efficient.

Form Mule - Automate differentiated responses to learners that submit a Google Form to connect them with appropriate resources or direct them to the next appropriate steps.

Self Grading Quiz - Automate the grading and grade reporting of multiple choice, check box, or drop down type questions.

Student Paced, differentiated, blended delivery - Use logic branching to support learners to progress through content at the rate of their learning, fill in the gaps of their learning with pointed resources, or leverage the power of multiple types of content delivery.

 

Yes, Google Forms can make my workflow more efficient, so I have more time outside of school to grab happy hour. The real magic of education, which technology will never replace, is the relationships build by caring teachers and developing children. No teacher will question the value in rich feedback and assessment data on my pedagogy, but the more time and effort I spend analyzing data or the mundane tasks of grading - the less time I get to spend face to face with students.

This content serves as the foundation of my presentation at the EdTechTeam Minnesota Summit Featuring Google for Education to be held at Fridley High School on March 11 & 12, 2017.

bottom of page